boing's useless info of the day:
i love paul f tompkins

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

been a long time coming.

i finally got my entire apartment moved into it's temporary home. if you don't recall, tuesday night i was supposed to take the uhaul over to my best friend's to unload it. i drove over there with my ex in the freezing cold. of course it was raining that night. so we get there & i knock on the door. no answer. i knock i knock i knock i knock. nobody answers. it's around 11:30 at night so i figure they would have left the key under the mat for me.

nope. i'm out in the cold ass rain with my rented truck that's due the next morning at 8:30am & no way to get the shit unloaded. the ex & i decide to go to kroger to get a lock & secure my stuff for a few hours. we come back, have a hell of a time trying to open the plastic death trap that encases the lock, and finally get everything set up. he has graciously offered to help me in the morning. i couldn't be more thankful. we drive my car back to my apartment & he gets in his car & goes home. with plans to call me at 7:30 in the morning to get started.

i am sleeping on the ground. 2 blankets wrapped around me as the temperature is below freezing outside. i have a space heater up close to my pillow & am curled up around my dog. i felt very homeless-chic in those few hours. i couldn't sleep at all so every 45 minutes i kept waking up.

and the phone rings at 7:30.

we're up & out by 8 & we get to the apartment where i'm to move my furniture. i knock & my friend answers the door. apparently, they went to bed at 11 & forgot to leave the door unlocked & didn't hear me knocking.

whatever. i'm still pissed.

we hurry & unload. my hands are frozen, i stink like hell, my back hurts, i have moving bruises on my legs, & my muscles are aching. but we get it done. the time is now 9:45. the truck was supposed to have been returned by 8:30. we drive in & hand the man his keys. he notes the time by saying, "looks like we ran a bit over, doesn't it?" [do y'all know how much i hate it when people say, 'we'?] i tell him that maybe we wouldn't have been late, but the fact that the truck had little to no brakes kinda threw us off. he goes out & drives it in the parking lot & decides not to charge us for an extra day. which seems like a fair trade off for sending us out in a death-mobile. thanks, uhaul.

anyhow. i go back to my apartment & start cleaning. everything looks good except the carpet. i broke my new vacuum somehow so i couldn't get much off the floor. but you know, if that's such a big deal, so be it. the place looked pretty good when i left it so i'm not too worried. as long as i get some of my deposit back.

as i closed the door i said good-bye to my apartment i said it outloud. i will really miss that place & all the times i had there. she was good to me.

15:12:49 - 2001-03-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next



free money!
$20 free
archives
notes
DiaryLand
random entry

other diaries:

youradhere
dirtnerdluv
sayparley
bigboy
humantorch
pinkyswear
buttsalad
returnsender
lost-mitten
luku
bigs
spidersense
photocopy
surly
casperwoo
suckmydick
radicalplop
ophelia79
poplife